Who Owns Formula 1 Circuits?

Who Owns Formula 1 Circuits?
Who Owns Formula 1 Circuits?

We all know motorsport is basically a sport for the rich so it’s completely natural that whoever owns Formula 1 circuits means serious business. So who owns Formula 1 circuits then?

In reality, it is quite hard to pinpoint the exact owner of these circuits. It all depends on the shareholder structure of the bodies that are linked to these tracks. However, much like other companies in other industries, it can be said that the individual who owns the most shares in the organization is the closest to ownership of the track. Some are even state-owned.

We listed down all the circuits that have the clearest information in this regard. It’s about time we find out the faces behind the venue provider of one of the richest sports in the universe.

Who owns Formula 1 circuits?

Yas Marina Circuit

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix takes place annually at Yas Marina Circuit, which is one of the most technologically advanced tracks in the world.

The current chairman of the Abu Dhabi Motorsports Management, the operator of the said Yas Marina Circuit, is H.E. Abdulla Khouri.

Bahrain International Circuit

The Bahrain International Circuit hosts the Bahrain Grand Prix and is owned by the Mumtalakat Group of Companies.

As an investment firm, the Mumtalakat Group of Companies operates the circuit through its subsidiary—the Bahrain International Circuit Company. A substantial portion of Bahrain’s GDP is generated by this company, which is wholly owned by the Kingdom of Bahrain and is represented on the stock market by the Ministry of Finance.

Losail International Circuit

The Qatar Grand Prix is hosted on the Losail International Circuit in the town of Lusail, north of Doha, Qatar.

Built by the Qatar Motor and Motorcycle Federation, the Losail International Circuit is a new track on the calendar and is still being operated by the federation.

Imola Circuit

Also known as the Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari, the Imola circuit hosts the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix in Italy. The Ferrari in the name is actually for Enzo Ferrari—the founder of the Scuderia Ferrari Grand Prix motor racing team, and subsequently of the Ferrari automobile marque—and not the prancing horse manufacturing company.

The Con-Ami Holdings Company was awarded tender rights to management for a period of 64 years of the Imola Circuit by the Municipality of Imola in 2012.

Interlagos Circuit 

The Brazilian Grand Prix is held in the Interlagos Circuit in São Paulo.

It combines state ownership, Brasil Motorsports promotion, and financial backing from Abu-Dhabi investment firm Mubadala.

Circuit De Barcelona-Catalunya

The Spanish Grand Prix in Barcelona is held at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

Ownership and management of the track is wholly controlled by a private company under the direction of the Department of Business and Connection, a subsidiary of the Generalitat de Catalunya.

Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez 

The Mexican Grand Prix is held at the Autódromo Hermanos Rodriguez in Mexico City.

Having previously been managed and owned by state-run oil company Pemex, financial problems have led the Mexican government to take a more direct role in the ownership and management of the track.

Baku City Circuit

The Azerbaijan Grand Prix takes place on the Baku City Circuit in the capital city, Baku.

Baku City Circuit Operation Company manages the Grand Prix and owns the track.

Circuit Of The Americas

Located in the city of Austin, Circuit of The Americas hosts the United States Grand Prix. Currently, its ownership belongs to a company of the same name founded by its managing partner Bobby Epstein.

Circuit Paul Ricard

The French Grand Prix is held on the Circuit Paul Ricard located in the small feudal town of Le Castellet.

Slavia Ecclestone, the ex-wife of former Formula One Group CEO Bernie Ecclestone, now owns and manages the company as part of their divorce settlement.

At the time of writing, it has not been relinquished by Ecclestone to a potential buyer, although bidding is believed to continue until 2022.

Istanbul Park

The Turkish Grand Prix is held at Istanbul Park in Istanbul.

Intercity Istanbul, which was founded by Ali Vural Ak, owns, manages, and operates the track.

Red Bull Ring

The Red Bull Ring holds the Austrian Grand Prix in Spielberg, Austria.

Formerly known as the A1-Ring, the track sat dormant until 2003, when CEO and President of Red Bull, Dieter Mateschitz, purchased the track and renamed it the Red Bull Ring.

Red Bull owns the Red Bull Ring, which opened in 2011 to host the Austrian Grand Prix and other motorsport events.

The Sochi Autodrom

The Russian Grand Prix takes place at the Sochi Autodrom in the municipality of Sirius.

Center Omega enterprise owns the track as of 2018, however plans are underway to facilitate the transfer of ownership to a state-owned or non-commercial organization for tax purposes.

Silverstone Circuit

The Silverstone Circuit is home to the British Grand Prix and is near the villages of Silverstone and Whittlebury in Northamptonshire.

British Racing Drivers’ Club owns Silverstone, an invitation-only club reserved for British racing drivers who have succeeded in motorsport.

At the time of writing, David Coulthard is the club’s president.

Monza Circuit

The Italian Grand Prix is held in Monza on the Monza Circuit. It is a jointly owned public venture of the Commune di Monza and Milano.


Hungary’s Grand Prix is held at the Hungaroring in the village of Mogyoród.

Hungaroring Sport Zrt owns, operates, and manages the track, whose CEO at the time of writing is Zsolt Gyulay.

Circuit Zandvoort

Circuit Zandvoort hosts the Dutch Grand Prix in Zandvoort, Netherlands.   

Ownership of the company currently lies with Chapman Andretti Partners, which in turn is co-owned by Prince Bernhard of Orange-Nassau, a member of the Dutch Royal family.

Circuit De Spa-Francorchamps

The Circuit De Spa-Francorchamps, in Francorchamps, hosts the Belgian Grand Prix.  

Track management and ownership are handled by a company of the same name.


Owning a Formula 1 circuit is a big self-advertisement as well as a great investment in today’s standards. Fans basically flock to sell out any of the circuits.

As can be gleaned from this list, Formula One tracks are mostly owned by either a corporate or non-commercial entity.

Download maps of your favourite F1 tracks here.

More in News

F1 Grand Prix Of Spain Practice

F1 In Madrid: What Does It Mean For Barcelona Beyond 2025?

Early in January 2024, Formula One confirmed the relocation of ...
Depositphotos 187122366 L

Remembering James Hunt, 31 Years On

June 15th, 1993, marked a somber day for Formula One. ...
Lando Norris, Mclaren Mcl38

Red Bull Concerned About F1 Rivals’ Front Wings

"Heated discussions" have been playing out behind the scenes in ...
Road America Indycar 2024

F1, MotoGP Owner Liberty Now Buys Formula E

Liberty, the John Malone-controlled group of entities, has added another ...
MONTREAL, QUEBEC - JUNE 09: Max Verstappen of the Netherlands driving the (1) Oracle Red Bull Racing RB20 leads George Russell of Great Britain driving the (63) Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team W15 on track during the F1 Grand Prix of Canada at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve on June 09, 2024 in Montreal, Quebec. (Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images) // Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool // SI202406091153 // Usage for editorial use only //

Canada GP Officials React After Embarrassing F1 Event

Canadian race organisers and local officials have spent the week ...

Trending on F1 Chronicle