2021 Formula 1 Standings & Results

Updated 2021 Formula 1 standings plus race and qualifying results as they happen…

2021 Formula 1 Standings & Results

2021 Italian Grand Prix Race Results (Round 14 - 2021-09-12)

1Daniel RicciardoMcLaren1:21:54.365Finished27
2Lando NorrisMcLaren+1.747Finished18
3Valtteri BottasMercedes+4.921Finished18
4Charles LeclercFerrari+7.309Finished12
5Sergio PérezRed Bull+8.723Finished10
6Carlos SainzFerrari+10.535Finished8
7Lance StrollAston Martin+15.804Finished6
8Fernando AlonsoAlpine F1 Team+17.201Finished4
9George RussellWilliams+19.742Finished2
10Esteban OconAlpine F1 Team+20.868Finished1
11Nicholas LatifiWilliams+23.743Finished0
12Sebastian VettelAston Martin+24.621Finished0
13Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo+27.216Finished0
14Robert KubicaAlfa Romeo+29.769Finished0
15Mick SchumacherHaas F1 Team+51.088Finished0
16Nikita MazepinHaas F1 TeamPower Unit0
17Lewis HamiltonMercedesCollision0
18Max VerstappenRed BullCollision2
19Pierre GaslyAlphaTauriSuspension0
20Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauriBrakes0

2021 Italian Grand Prix Qualifying Results (Round 14 - 2021-09-12)

1Valtteri BottasMercedes1:20.6851:20.0321:19.555
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:20.5431:19.9361:19.651
3Max VerstappenRed Bull1:21.0351:20.2291:19.966
4Lando NorrisMcLaren1:20.9161:20.0591:19.989
5Daniel RicciardoMcLaren1:21.2921:20.4351:19.995
6Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri1:21.4401:20.5561:20.260
7Carlos SainzFerrari1:21.1181:20.7501:20.462
8Charles LeclercFerrari1:21.2191:20.7671:20.510
9Sergio PérezRed Bull1:21.3081:20.8821:20.611
10Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo1:21.1971:20.7261:20.808
11Sebastian VettelAston Martin1:21.3941:20.913
12Lance StrollAston Martin1:21.4151:21.020
13Fernando AlonsoAlpine F1 Team1:21.4871:21.069
14Esteban OconAlpine F1 Team1:21.5001:21.103
15George RussellWilliams1:21.8901:21.392
16Nicholas LatifiWilliams1:21.925
17Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri1:21.973
18Mick SchumacherHaas F1 Team1:22.248
19Robert KubicaAlfa Romeo1:22.530
20Nikita MazepinHaas F1 Team1:22.716

2021 Formula 1 Standings: Driver’s Championship

1Max VerstappenRed Bull226.5
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes221.5
3Valtteri BottasMercedes141
4Lando NorrisMcLaren132
5Sergio PérezRed Bull118
6Charles LeclercFerrari104
7Carlos SainzFerrari97.5
8Daniel RicciardoMcLaren83
9Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri66
10Fernando AlonsoAlpine F1 Team50
11Esteban OconAlpine F1 Team45
12Sebastian VettelAston Martin35
13Lance StrollAston Martin24
14Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri18
15George RussellWilliams15
16Nicholas LatifiWilliams7
17Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo2
18Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo1
19Mick SchumacherHaas F1 Team0
20Robert KubicaAlfa Romeo0
21Nikita MazepinHaas F1 Team0

2021 Formula 1 Standings: Constructor’s Championship

2Red Bull344.5
5Alpine F1 Team95
7Aston Martin59
9Alfa Romeo3
10Haas F1 Team0

2021 Formula 1 Schedule

2021 Formula 1 Schedule
28 March – Bahrain (Sakhir)
18 April – Italy (Imola)
2 May – Portugal (Portimao)
9 May – Spain (Barcelona)*
23 May – Monaco (Monaco)
6 June – Azerbaijan (Baku)
20 June – France (Le Castellet)
27 June – Styrian Grand Prix
4 July – Austria (Spielberg)
18 July – United Kingdom (Silverstone)
1 August – Hungary (Budapest)
29 August – Belgium (Spa)
5 September – Netherlands (Zandvoort)
12 September – Italy (Monza)
26 September – Russia (Sochi)
10 October – Turkey
24 October – USA (Austin)
7 November – Mexico (Mexico City)
14 November – Brazil (Sao Paulo)
21 November – TBC
5 December – Saudi Arabia (Jeddah)
12 December – Abu Dhabi (Abu Dhabi)

Formula 1 Podcast

Grid Talk is the best FORMULA 1 podcast for F1 race previews, post-qualifying analysis, and race reviews.

Subscribe to the podcast here:

How are Formula 1 points awarded? 

The finishing positions of drivers and teams determine how many points they receive. The winner receives 25 points, the second-place finisher receives 18 points, and the third through tenth positions receive 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2 and 1 points, respectively.

The driver who has the fastest lap of the race will earn an additional point if they finish in the top 10 positions.

In the event that a race is abandoned before reaching 75% of the planned distance, all points are halved. 

Prizes and points are shared equally among all those who tie in a dead heat. 

The driver (or team, for the Constructors’ Championship) with the most points wins the championship. 

If two or more drivers have the same number of points, priority is given to the driver with more race wins. 

If the number of wins is the same it will be decided on the most second places and so on.

Teams vie for positions in the table that will determine their payout from F1 at the end of the season in the World Constructors’ Championship, where every point counts. 

There is a significant amount of money awarded based on WCC standings – 23.75% of F1 profits – and a percentage of the revenue generated by the championship is shared between the 10 teams. 

There is also a percentage of the income that does depend on where teams finish in the championship standings.

Williams in 2020 should receive around $15million (£11million) while Mercedes as champions were rewarded with approximately $66million (£48million).

In addition to this, Ferrari also receives an extra payment for the history and prestige they bring to the sport. 

F1 Points System (for Drivers and Constructors)

  • Winner (1st) – 25 points
  • 2nd position – 18 points
  • 3rd position – 15 points
  • 4th position – 12 points
  • 5th position – 10 points
  • 6th position – 8 points
  • 7th position – 6 points
  • 8th position – 4 points
  • 9th position – 2 points
  • 10th position – 1 point
  • Fastest lap – 1 point

How has Formula 1 point scoring changed over the years? 

Adding a bonus point for the fastest lap may have seemed revolutionary when it was introduced last year by the sport’s owners Liberty Media – in reality, it was a throwback to decades past.

Up until the 1960 season, when Jack Brabham won the title, an extra point was awarded for the fastest lap in F1. It made little difference to the overall result, as he was well clear of Bruce McLaren and had a number of fastest laps himself.

This point was instead redistributed throughout the field. Until that point, points were only awarded to the top five drivers in a race (eight of them to the winner) and only the best four or five race results counted for the championship.

For the first time in 1960, points were awarded to the top six, and in 1961 the winner was awarded nine points. Those points were rounded up to 10 in 1991, but the six places in which the winner is awarded points remained the case for more than 40 years, until a revamp in 2002 extended that to eight and another in 2010 made it the top 10, when the winner became 25 points.